//
you're reading...
Internet

Google’s define: What Happens With It

I’ve been a big fan of google’s “define:” keyword. It has helped me a lot in many cases, from a mere curiosity to writing a specific chapter in my papers. Problem is, it didn’t seem to work anymore these past months. Don’t know why.

So I just let it be (with a disappointment, of course), until tonight. Out of the blue, I googled about it, and stumbled upon this explanation by google.

To see a definition for a word or phrase, simply type the word “define” then a space, then the word(s) you want defined. To see a list of different definitions from various online sources, you can type “define:” followed by a word or phrase. Note that the results will define the entire phrase.

 

Is it helpful? Not really. I tried both “define micro“ (with space, without quotes) and “define:micro” (with colon, without space, without quotes) and this is what happened.

define micro

define:micro

As you can see, there is no significant difference.  The first image (the “define ” keyword) provides slightly more relevant result. Both keywords give me a definition of something,  but that’s not what I want.

I want something like THIS.

web definition of micro

That is indeed what the classic “define:” did.  Unfortunately, to achieve that kind of result today, we need to do one more step: clicking on the “More” link.

more definitions of micro

One step? It seems insignificant, but frankly speaking, it’s annoying. So please, Google, bring me back the classic “define:” result. Pretty please?

-FIN-

PS: I find a way or two to work around it. I will post it later.

Diskusi

Belum ada komentar.

Tinggalkan Balasan

